High above the village of Gossensass sits St. George's parish church. A church dedicated to St. George was first documented in 1375. After extensive renovations it was consecrated on the 16th of May 1471 by Caspar, the then axillary bishop of Salzburg.

From 1750 a new parish church with pilasters, shallow cupolas and barrel vaults was built. The ceiling frescoes in both nave cupolas and in the apse are by Matthäus Günther and date from 1751. The tower, built from granite blocks was raised in 1769 and given its onion dome. The miner's chapel of St. Barbara next to the parish church was built in 1510. The gem in this two storey construction with square floor plan and polygonal chance is a late Gothic winged alter by an unknown master, dating from around 1520. A triptych dated 1570, donated by the Sterzing mountain judge Kaspar Kofler, depicts Christ as the friend of children, Jesus’ baptism and the christening of a child.
Contact
39041 Colle Isarco/Gossensass